See What I Have Done | Review

See What I Have Done by Sarah Schmidt

See What I Have Done by [Schmidt, Sarah]

See What I Have Done is a new retelling of the fascinating story of Lizzie Borden. 

Lizzie Borden was accused of killing her father and step mother in 1892 when they were both found at home, massacred. Lizzie Borden was acquitted after the jury decided the evidence against her was only circumstantial. Still, the case intrigues people to this day.

Sarah Schmidt’s retelling of the infamous case brings a new chilling voice to the mystery.

Going into this novel, I only knew that Lizzie Borden probably killed her parents. I didn’t know about her other family or any particulars of the case or even Lizzie’s age. This is why I was quite surprised to find out that Lizzie was 32 when the murders took place.

Schmidt’s characterization of Lizzie makes the story even creepier. As I was reading I thought Lizzie was a teenager or perhaps a young adult who acted very childish. The fact that she was a grown woman and still acted like a child adds such a chilling effect to the murders.

This retelling of the Lizzie Borden case is creepy yet still intriguing. The author’s characterization helps keep this story fresh even though the event occurred over 100 years ago. 

Make sure to check this mystery out, available today, August 1st.

Happy Reading,

becka

 

LET’S BE FRIENDS

 YouTube         |          Instagram          |         Pinterest          |        Twitter

 

 

*I received an advanced copy of See What I Have Done from NetGalley and Grove Atlantic in exchange for an honest review. See What I Have Done is available for purchase today, August 1, 2017.

 

Leave a Reply

