Our Dark Duet | A Review

Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab

Our Dark Duet

 

August and Kate’s battle to win back Verity from the monsters comes to fruition in the second book of the Monsters of Verity duology.

Kate, living in Prosperity after the awful events that occurred in Verity, still fights to take back the world from the monster threat. August, still in Verity, finally becomes the monster he was meant to be in order to rescue his city from a threat bigger than the Harkers. 

This book starts a few months after the events of This Savage Song (click here for my review). And, boy, it was a slow beginning. I loved This Savage Song because it was such a refreshing new YA novel and I have my issues with YA novels. I read the first book so fast. While Our Dark Duet only took me 3ish days the read, it was only because I was forcing myself to read it quickly.

I don’t really know how I was expecting this story to end, I honestly was not surprised by the ending at all… BUT, the emotion that should have been there was not. This book did not impress me and I was quite disappointed.

But ending on a happier note, the characterization for some side characters was great and I really enjoyed reading about the Flynns and August’s friends.

I really hope everyone else can enjoy this book more than I did, this series was so promising! Did you read it? What are your thoughts?

becka

 

LET’S BE FRIENDS

 YouTube                    Instagram                    Pinterest                    Twitter

Leave a Reply

