Camp NaNoWriMo 2017: Update

As April has ended so has my first ever attempt at Camp NaNoWriMo. My goal for the month was to write 10,000 words for a new book idea. Today I’m sharing how I completely failed that goal. Oh no!

StockSnap_JHJH4PS68L

HERE IS MY ORIGINAL POST FOR CAMP NANOWRIMO APRIL 2017

Why I Failed

There are so many reasons I failed this month. I could blame it on being busy, but there really is no excuse. I could’ve made the time. Here are a few things that I know set me up to fail:

  1. I read a lot this month. In March I was in a tiny reading slump (very tiny) and I didn’t reach my reading goal of 6 books. However, at the beginning of April I was hit in the face with a desire to read and read and read some more. I’ve already surpassed my goal of 6 books this month.
  2. I didn’t plan like I should’ve. I am a planner and since I didn’t make any progress whatsoever in planning out my story I felt unprepared and was just stuck.
  3. Laziness. This month I’ve been stuck in a rut of watching Netflix and not doing much else. Procrastination is the worst!

 Plans For Next Time

Now that I’ve gotten through my first NaNoWriMo attempt, I’m more prepared for next time. How I’m going to do better in July:

  1. PLAN. I’m going to take planning seriously and do my best to be organized for a successful NaNo. Knowing how my novel will end before I start writing is crucial to how productive I am.
  2. Schedule my time. I need to stop relying on free time to write and make a schedule of when I have the most time and when I’m feeling the most productive.
  3. Make writing a priority. In April all I wanted to do was read and watch Netflix. While I do want to complete my reading goal for the year, I need to make writing my priority during NaNo.

I didn’t expect my first time writing a novel in 30 days to go smoothly, but I did expect to do better. For now I’ll stick to planning a better, more productive Camp NaNo experience in July.

How did you do?

sig

 

FOLLOW ME

YouTube                Instagram                    Pinterest                    Twitter

 

Leave a Reply

