The Girl Before by J. P. Delaney

the-girl-beforeGoing back and forth between two times, this thriller follows two women who, at separate times, live in the same, odd house. Before moving in both women must submit an application that includes many bizarre questions, such as: “Please make a list of every possession you consider essential to your life.” Jane, the current tenant of the house, starts to notice strange things about the house and its creator when she learns that Emma, one of the previous tenants, was murdered.


I like thrillers. They’re fast-paced and easy to read and generally interesting. They’re sort of like the comfort food of books to me. This book was essentially that. However, JP Delaney really took this book a step further.

There were so many interesting aspects of this book. The house itself is incredible and sort of strange. The man who built the house is kind of insane, but in a compelling way. The viewpoints of the women that go back forth are almost the same, until they aren’t.

I almost set this book done about halfway through because it was almost becoming too much for me. There were just certain aspects of things that didn’t sit right with me and I didn’t want to continue reading about, but I stuck with it. Which I’m glad I did because I really enjoyed the ending.

Rating: ★★★★

 

Happy Reading!

becka

 

I received an advanced copy of The Girl Before from NetGalley and Random House Publishing Group – Ballantine in exchange for an honest review. The Girl Before will be available for purchase January 24, 2017.

One thought on “The Girl Before by J. P. Delaney

Leave a Reply

