2017 Reading Challenge and Goals

I’ve been debating whether I am going to challenge myself to read 60 or 70 books this year. Even though I well surpassed my goal of 50 books last year, and 70 books could be done, I think it would be more beneficial for me to focus on the books that I’m reading rather than reading for the sake of reading.

Whether I read 60, 70, or 100 books I do have some specific goals for the books that I end up reading:

  • Read more nonfiction
  • Read more classics
  • Take more notes while reading

I also happen to work at a library that does a reading challenge every year and I’m participating in it this year. The theme this year is to “Be Well Read.” Which means random categories like a book about food and a book set in Asia.

2016-12-29-2

I’m actually really excited to be participating in this challenge this year. I think it’s really going to make me read some books that I might otherwise not read.

Here’s a list of books that I’m considering for the #Bwellread challenge:

  • The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch (memoir)
  • Into Thin Air by Jon Krakauer (memoir)
  • Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston (Black History Month)
  • 12 Years a Slave by Solomon Northup (Black History Month)
  • The Ruins by Scott B. Smith (Recommended by a librarian, my sister)
  • A Pocket Full of Rye by Agatha Christie (book about food)
  • Soundless by Richelle Mead (set in Asia)
  • Hiroshima by John Hersey (set in Asia)
  • The Wonderful Wizard of Oz by L. Frank Baum (re-read from childhood)
  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens (faked reading in high school)
  • Cinder by Marissa Meyer (first in a series)
  • Red Rising by Pierce Brown (first in series)
  • Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas (first in series)
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini (banned at some point)
  • The Complete Persepolis by  Marjane Satrapi (graphic novel)
  • The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead (National Book Award winner)
  • The Color Purple by Alice Walker (National Book Award winner)
  • Digital Fortress by Dan Brown (takes place in the state you were born)
  • Every Day by David Levithan (takes place in the state you were born)

 

This is a very short list of goals, but I think they really represent what I want to accomplish and that is to be a better reader.

What are your goals for 2017 reading? What books are you most looking forward to reading?

HAPPY READING!

becka

 

 

Even though I work at BCPL, my opinions and posts do not reflect those of Baltimore County Public Library. 

3 thoughts on “2017 Reading Challenge and Goals

  1. Lauren's Notebook says:

    I absolutely loved “Their Eyes Were Watching God” and I highly recommend it. It’s one of my all time favorite books! My 2017 reading goal is just one book per month haha…much less ambitious than yours!

    Like

    • beckakw says:

      I actually read it in high school, but I don’t remember anything about it, which is why it’s back on my TBR!
      And my philosophy is as long as you’re reading, it’s something to be proud of! Good luck!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

