My Year in Books | 2016

2016 was the first year I participated in a Goodreads challenge. My goal was 50 books, and I surpassed it by reading 63 books!

I did not expect to reach 63 books at all. At the beginning of the year I was really worried about even reaching my 50-book goal!

2016-12-29-1

stats

63 total books; 2 I didn’t completely read

Age Group:

  • Adult: 40
  • Young Adult: 14
  • Children: 7
  • Classics: 2 (not really an age group, but I thought they should be separated)

Genre: (these numbers won’t add up to 60 because some books are multiple genres)

  • Horror: 2
  • Romance: 7
  • Sci-fi: 7
  • Fantasy: 24
  • Mystery/Thriller: 10
  • Historical Fiction: 5
  • Graphic Novel: 12
  • Non-fiction: 3

books

Favorites:

Outlander by Diana GabaldonThe Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, the Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson, A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas, We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie, This Savage Song by Victoria SchwabLady Midnight by Cassandra Clare

Books I didn’t like:

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell, Red Queen by Victoria AveyardA Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J Maas, Elephants Can Remember by Agatha Christie

Books that surprised me:

The Wonder by Emma Donoghue

the-wonder

preferences

Something that has definitely changed for me this year are my reading preferences. I thought before that I preferred reading YA novels, but after reading some this year I realize that that is not true whatsoever. It’s really interesting when a group of people keep saying how great a story is and then you read it and you’re just like… what? That was awful…

Since I’m no longer a teenager I’m finding that I need a really good storyline in a YA book to keep me interested because I just don’t really connect to the characters that much anymore. Also, I think I’ve become a more thoughtful reader, which is why certain books (*cough* Red Queen *cough*) are just really hard for me to like.

improve

Some things that I’d really like to do differently next year include reading more nonfiction and classics. Unless you count all the Agatha Christie’s I read this year, than I only read two classics (shame). I also only read 3 nonfiction books and two of them were really short. In order to become a well-read individual, I would like to do better.

How was your reading this year? What were your favorite books? Do you have any recommendations?

Happy Reading!

becka

Leave a Reply

