How I Changed My Reading Life

While I was in college I did not read as much as I wanted to. I wasn’t very busy when it came to actual assignments, especially since I found college to be very easy, but I was busy when it came to other aspects of college life.

So when it came to reading something other than textbooks, I was too lazy. I definitely spent too much time watching Netflix and sleeping. I can’t actually recall reading more than 5ish books per year.

This year, when I decided to challenge myself to reading 50 books, I struggled so much. I didn’t really start reading as much as I needed to until this summer, so at the beginning of the year I was really worried about completing this challenge.

However, I reached my goal of 50 books at the end of November!!!

So how did I go from reading about 5 books a year to reading 50? Here are some tips if you want to change your reading life:

  1. Carry a book around with you everywhere. If you have a Kindle or a Nook, use it! I really can’t stand how so many people hate on e-readers. They’re so great for day to day travel and you always have options!
  2. If you are not into the book you are reading, stop reading it. Don’t feel pressured to finish a book or to even like it because everyone else does.
  3. Find a reading buddy. You don’t have to be super competitive, but doing this challenge with my sister and brother really pushed me to read more. Also, me and my sister talk to each other about the books we read, so we get even more motivation.
  4. Find inspiration elsewhere. Get on Goodreads and follow some bookstagrams. Seeing beautiful photos of books made me want to read them more and both are great for recommendations.
  5. Read something different. If you feel like you’re in a slump, read something from a different genre. Doing this throughout the year keeps reading fun and fresh.
  6. Make lists. This may not be for everyone, but since I love lists it certainly helped me. Writing down the books I’ve read, the ones I still want to read, or any other book related things kept me interested in reading and pushed me further.
  7. Keep track of your thoughts. Reading for fun really doesn’t need to be anything but that. But if you are looking for a deeper reading experience, keeping track of your thoughts, quotes, and other aspects of a book can enhance the way you read (ergo, blogging).

These are just a few things that I do in order to read more and read better. Completing this reading challenge has really changed the amount of books that I read and the way that I read. If you have any tips for changing your reading life, please share them in the comments!

Happy Reading!

becka

3 thoughts on “How I Changed My Reading Life

  1. Alex @ WhimsyPages says:

    Yes! Carrying a book or kindle with at all time helps me double the amount of books I read per month. There is always a little bit of time here and there during the day that I can spend progressing through the book.
    Love the post! (Absolutely something I would do :D)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

