Harry Potter and the Cursed Child | A Review

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Rating: ★★★★★

When I first heard the script to the play was being published I wasn’t really interested. However, after reading so many reviews and seeing all of the hype I knew I had to read it.

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eighth Harry Potter story, taking place years after The Deathly Hallows. I know a lot of people are taking issue with the phrase “the eighth Harry Potter story,” but that’s what it is. It’s a story and it’s about Harry Potter.

Of course it’s not just about Harry though. This story also closely follows his son, Albus (ergo, Cursed Child). Albus finds it difficult to live up to the Potter name, especially when he is sorted into Slytherin at Hogwarts. He becomes best friends with Scorpius, Draco Malfoy’s son, and starts an adventure to right Harry’s past mistakes.


I really enjoyed the story and I was glad to be back in Harry Potter’s world. Was it different from the original series? Yes, but it’s a script, not a novel, so I’m not too torn up about that.

While there was that obvious different (as well as the fact that it wasn’t written by J.K. Rowling), I felt that it was very true to Harry Potter‘s message: Evil cannot conquer those who have love. The importance of friendship and family was the theme of this book and nothing could be more true to Rowling’s original message.

Were the characters a bit clunky and silly? Yes. But this was meant for the stage and I’m sure it would be marvelous to be seen.

Also, Scorpius. Love.

I think the only thing I could really dislike about this book is the “heir of Voldemort” thing. It was a bit silly to me and wasn’t that the point of The Chamber of Secrets? But, again, I wasn’t too bothered by it.

Have you read this yet? Did you enjoy it as much as I did?

Happy Reading,

Becka

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Cursed Child | A Review

  1. readwithg says:

    I have been putting off reading this book because of all the negative reviews out there. I am a huge Potterhead, I have one of my favorite lines tattooed boldly across my forearm. This review gave me hope. I hope I enjoy it as much as you did!

    Like

    • beckakw says:

      I think you just really have to go into it with an open mind. If you start reading it knowing it will be different because it’s a play and it’s not written by Rowling, then it shouldn’t be a disappointment but a new look into the HP world. I hope you enjoy it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

