What I’ve Been Reading Lately (#3)

Some quick reviews of the books that I’ve been reading this month.

The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

The Sea of Monsters

In the second installment of the Olympians series by Rick Riordan, Percy Jackson is looking forward to his second summer at Camp Half-Blood until he is told not to return. He, of course, does not listen to this especially when his friend Annabeth helps him kill some monsters that attack him and his new friend at school. Through some dreams Percy learns that his friend Grover is in trouble and in order to save the camp he must complete a quest to save Grover and find the magical fleece that will save the camp.

I’m continuing to enjoy this series. They’re an easy read, which is great when I need a break from heavier reading. It’s also a fun mix between mythology and fiction today. ★★★★/5 stars

 

Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Carry On

Carry On is about the world that Cath writes fanfiction about in Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Simon Snow is the “Chosen One” and a bad one at that. His roommate, Baz, is a vampire who tells him this. Sort of like a Harry Potter fanfiction, Simon must defeat the evil magician who is threatening the magical world.

I have not read Fangirl and that might have been my first mistake. I read about half of Carry On and skimmed the rest because it was just a bit too boring for me at the time. I intend to pick it up again eventually, but I think I’ll read Fangirl first.

 

Peril at End House by Agatha Christie

Peril at End House

Hercule Poirot is a famous detective known for thinking on his feet and solving even the most difficult cases. While on holiday Poirot meets a young woman whose life has been in danger and has escaped death on several different occasions, including directly in front of Poirot. Wanting to protect this girl from a fatal event, Poirot examines the evidence and psychology in order to solve the case.

Mystery novels are not my go-to for reading. However, Agatha Christie is one of the best-selling mystery novelists, both then and now, for a reason. Her writing is interesting and keeps the reader’s attention. I definitely did not expect that ending, which to me is the sign of a great mystery. I only wish that the beginning drew me in a bit faster. ★★★.5/5 stars

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

Murder on the Orient ExpressHercule Poirot boards a train to get back to England where he is needed to solve another case. However, the Orient Express gets caught in a snow drift… and one of the passengers is found murdered. Knowing that the murderer could not have left the train after the crime, Poirot decides to take this case on.

This was the first Agatha Christie novel I’ve ever read and it instantly hooked me. Even though the entire setting of this book takes place on a train, it is not boring. Christie hooked me from the very beginning and kept me guessing until the very end. I don’t know how Poirot does it. ★★★★/5 stars

 

Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard 

Red Queen

Read my full review here.

Mare Barrow’s world is split in two: Reds versus Silvers. The reds are oppressed and want to fight back. Mare believes she is a red until she inadvertently uses her power to save her life. Caught between two princes and a war for freedom, Mare must learn where she fits in the world and uncover the truth that everyone tries to hide.

I loved the idea of this book, but the execution was lacking. Overall, I didn’t connect to the characters and was a bit bored throughout the whole thing. This is a series that I won’t be finishing. ★★/5 stars

 

What have you been reading lately?

Happy Reading,

Becka

One thought on “What I’ve Been Reading Lately (#3)

Leave a Reply

