Mid-Year Book Survey

I borrowed this idea from @annreads over on Instagram. She made a list of 31 prompts for the month of July for a mid-year book challenge (I’ve taken some off the list).

Books I’ve read this year:

  1. First read of the year: Game of Thrones
  2. Favorite female character: Vin, from the Mistborn series, is really the only female character that I’ve read enough of to stick with me.
  3. Book that deserves more attention: [I’m going to sound like a broken record in this post] The Mistborn series.
  4. Shortest book read in 2016: We Should All Be Feminists was the shortest book, but that’s only because it’s an essay. Lady Midnight
  5. Favorite male character: Kelsier, from Mistborn, is such a great character. He impacts the plot and the characters even when he’s long gone.
  6. Beautiful book cover: Lady Midnight is my favorite book cover so far this year.
  7. Most read genre: Fantasy 
  8. Favorite side characters: I loved nearly all of the characters in the Mistborn series. They all were complex and entertaining characters that made the series that much more enjoyable.
  9. Longest book read: Game of Thrones at 835 pages.
  10. Book that made me cry: The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson 
  11. New favorite author: Brandon Sanderson. He is a wizard and weaves magic into books.
  12. Book not finished: Carry On by Rainbow Rowell. I may finish it someday, but it was just a bit too boring for me right now.
  13. Best Sequel: A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas is the best sequel I read this year. It surpassed my expectations and is easily one of my favorite books this year.
  14. Favorite book quote: “At last I said, ‘His voice is cold at first, John. It seems unfeeling. But if you listen without fear, you find that when he speaks, the most ordinary words become poetry. When he stands close to you, your life becomes a song, a praise. When he touches you, your smallest talents become gold; the most ordinary loves break your heart with their beauty.'” (From Keturah and Lord Death by Martine Leavitt)
  15. Beautifully written: Keturah and Lord Death by Martine Leavitt (published in 2006)
  16. Favorite read so far: Keturah and Lord Death by Martine Leavitt

Books I want to read this year:

  1. Series I want to start: I want to start the Alloy Era Mistborn series. Jane Steele
  2. 2016 release I haven’t read yet: The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig
  3. Standalone I want to read: Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye
  4. New to me author I want to read: Victoria Schwab. I really want to read A Darker Shade of Magic and This Savage Song.
  5. Series I want to finish: The Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare
  6. Most intimidating on my TBR: The entire A Song of Ice and Fire series.
  7. Fantasy book I want to read: Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman (started today)
  8. Most anticipated release for the rest of 2016: Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
  9. Book to reread: probably Harry Potter
  10. Book to read by the end of the year: I want to finally read Pride and Prejudice this year.

 

What have been your favorite books of the year?

sig

 

One thought on “Mid-Year Book Survey

Leave a Reply

