DIY Planner

Every time I go to Target I see the beautiful Day Designer planners that are so detailed… and expensive. As much as I would love to own one of these planners, I just can’t afford to buy a $30ish planner. So I decided to make one!

I got this Miquelrius Soft Bound Medium Journal from Barnes and Noble (and it was half the price that Amazon lists). It’s plain black (I added the elephant decal), 300 pages (600 front and back), 6 x 8 inches, and has thick grid paper. It’s a great quality journal for a good price. 

DIY Planner

Intro Section

Since I’m still in the process of creating my DIY planner, I’ll just give a quick list of the spreads and pages I’ll be including (in the order they are in my journal).

  • Title page
  • Table of Contents
  • 2017 Calendar and important dates (i.e. holidays and birthdays)NY7
  • Yearly goals
  • Important info (such as phone numbers and passwords)
  • Reading goals and stats for 2017
  • A list of books that I read in 2017NY8
  • Blog goals
  • A “wishlist” type page
  • An inspiration spread
  • A self-care list
  • Blog info
  • Blog post index

After this first section I have full page monthly calendars for 2017 and smaller calendars for 2018.

Monthly Section

Then comes my monthly sections. Here’s what I include in them:

  • Monthly title page/ dividerNY1
  • List Calendar
  • Money log
  • Savings log
  • Monthly trackerNY2
  • Reading and Blogging logs
  • Instagram Challenge
  • A few pages for blog notes and brainstorming
  • Then my weeklies (which include a fitness/health tracker).

NY3

NY5

NY6

At the very end of each monthly section I have a page for tasks moved to the next month, notes sections, doodle pages, and blank pages for anything else.

To make it easier to flip through each month, I’ve color-coded each month on the side of my journal.

NY4

And finally at the end of all the monthlies, I have about 50 pages left that I will keep blank for notes, projects, doodles, etc.

Working on my planner is something that I’ve really had fun doing and I plan to continue doing this for years to come!

Do you have any creative ideas for making your own planner? Let me know in the comments!

sig

 

17 thoughts on “DIY Planner

  1. mamazedshomestead says:

    I cannot not even put into words how much I love this. I absolutely love stationary, but the cute planners like this are always so freaking expensive, and I love to DIY. Bookmarking this, can’t wait to do it!

    Like

  2. Diamond Interiors says:

    That is BRILLIANT!!! Your handwriting is gorgeous, you’re onto a winner here! I’ve been making my own daily planner too, but mine isn’t quite as exciting as yours! I loved your Reading List page – what a great idea to draw a bookshelf full of book spines to fill in! Thanks for the inspiration 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

