A Bookish June

Happy July! Is anyone else excited about the summer?!

June was so productive for me and I did so much more than I thought I would.

These are the books that I read this month:

The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson | The last book in the Mistborn trilogy. Vin Venture and her husband Elend are now ruling the Final Empire and must heal the damage that the Lord Ruler inflicted upon the world. New enemies and old religions come together in a way that brings life to the dead world that Sanderson presents here. His fresh ideas in this fantasy novel kept me guessing until the very end. ★★★★/5

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J Maas | After not liking A Court of Thorns and Roses, I did not expect to love this book. After defeating Amarantha, Feyre must live with what she did in the Night Court. But she also has to honor the deal she made with Rhysand, whom she does not trust. After learning who her “beloved” Tamlin really is Feyre makes the decision to become who she really is meant to be. I read this 600+ paged book in less than three days and it is definitely one of my favorites of the year so far. ★★★★/5

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare | Tessa knows nothing of the Shadow world until she is kidnapped and forced to use her new (to her) powers by two evil warlocks. When she is finally rescued, she finds that she has no choice but to be part of this new world. An exciting look into a different era of Shadowhunters. ★★★★/5

The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan | Percy Jackson is a troubled kid, but not really. He’s actually the son of a god and he must complete a quest to return the lightning bolt he stole, although he didn’t actually steal it… After reading this book, I finally understand why people hate the movies (not that I hate them, but I totally get it). ★★★★/5

Keturah and Lord Death by Martine Leavitt | Keturah is known for her story-telling and must use her talents to save herself from Death for one more day. A brilliant story about love or just a metaphor for death? This book was a breath-taking view of the meaning of death and how we must learn to accept it. ★★★★★/5

With Malice by Eileen Cook | Jill wakes up in the hospital with no knowledge about the past 6 weeks. Now people are telling her that her best friend is dead and she may have something to do with her death. A quick and easy read, that was also a bit annoying to me. ★★★/5

I also started Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I’m not sure how I feel about it.


20160701_114508

Here are some books that I may or may not be reading in the month of July. Haha I never stick to monthly TBR lists so who knows if I’ll actually read them.

The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan

Clockwork Prince by Cassandra Clare

Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare

Trigger Warning by Neil Gaiman

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken

I also recently bought some e-books that may or may not be read this month:

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston

The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie

Have you read any of these books? Did you like them?

sig

One thought on “A Bookish June

Leave a Reply

