10 Books That Intimidate Me

When it comes to reading, I’ll read just about anything from articles about the importance of sleep or nail care to trashy romance novels, from novels that are deemed “important” to juvenile and silly children’s books. However, there are just some books that I shy away from for various reasons.

 

Here are ten books that intimidate me, but are still on my TBR list:

  1. Les Miserables by Victor Hugo
    • It’s massive. And Hugh Jackman isn’t there to sing to me.
  2. Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West Gregory Maguire
    • I’ve heard that the book just isn’t as good as the musical and a lot of people can’t get through it.
  3. A Song of Ice and Fire by George R. R. Martin
    • Game of Thrones took me forever to read. And the rest will take me an equally long time.
  4. Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell
    • It’s long.
  5. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy
    • Or any Russian Lit, for that matter.
  6. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  7. The Martian by Andy Weir
    • I’ve heard that there’s a lot of science in the book, so I’m a bit nervous that a lot of it will go over my head because I’m not smart anymore.
  8. The Lord of the Rings series by J. R. R. Tolkien
    • The Lord of the Rings movies are some of may favorites and I’m a bit nervous that people say the movies are better than the books.
  9. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
  10. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo by Stieg Larrson
    • The content is pretty intimidating, I’m told.

All of these books are on my TBR list, but it will take me a bit to get to them. Do you have any input about these books? How did you like them?

 

sig

8 thoughts on “10 Books That Intimidate Me

  1. justpagebypage says:

    I liked Les Miserables but it’s been a while since I’ve read it. And I love ASOIAF and LotR!! I know they are huge but I adore them! They are so good. The world building, the characters.. Everything is just amazing. I do have to say that a small part of LotR was a little bit boring but still, it’s one of my favourite books! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sister Spot Book Blog says:

    Pride and Prejudice is my all time favorite book. I have re-read it a hundred times. ( ok 100 might be an exaggeration lol) BUT the first time I read it I was only in 5th/6th grade. So it is not nearly as intimidating as you might think ♡
    Definitely need to add some of these others to my TBR.

    Like

  3. Gueda says:

    I’m also intimidated by Russian literature, but we’ll get there!
    As for Jane Austen, it’s beautiful. It’s not a heavy book to read (I read in 5 days the first time). Tolkien will need a little more patience. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a Tolkien fanatic, but LotR is a very mature work. It took me 3 months to finish it (but I was 12, so it was hard to me). And keep in mind you don’t have to read it all at once, because they are 3 books, so that’s something. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

