Review: The Well of Ascension

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson

  • genre: sci-fi/fantasy
  • rating: ★★★★
  • This is the second book in the Mistborn series. Here is my review for the first book (read it before I spoil something).

The Well of AscensionAs I stated in my review for Mistborn, I really love this series so far. And that hasn’t changed after I finished the second book. These books are long and the second one was a bit slow, but they are worth it. I know a lot of people don’t want to jump onto this bandwagon and read the series, but I am glad I did.

The Mistborn novels follow the protagonist, Vin, a street urchin turned noblewoman. In the first book the reader discovers that Vin is an Allomancer (which involves powers through the use of certain metals), and more specifically a Mistborn. Now Allomancy was supposed to be reserved for the noble class, and since Vin is skaa (pretty much a peasant) she is not supposed to have these powers. So in the first novel a group of thieves gets together and is trying to overthrow the Lord Ruler, a tyrant who is also believed to be a god. In a quick summary of the first novel, they do. The Well of Ascension occurs a year after the Lord Ruler is overthrown and Elend, Vin’s boyfriend nobleman, is now king attempting to keep his city safe from other tyrants.

The Well of Ascension, which the novel is titled after, is to believed the place where a great power is housed that the Lord Ruler took advantage of in order to defeat “the Deepness,” a dark force that no one actually know what it is. So the novel is pretty much about Elend trying to save the city and Vin trying to discover what the Deepness was and where the Well of Ascension is.

While the novel was a tad slower than the first one, I don’t hate it. There was so much character development that really built the book. Elend was a philosopher in the first book, so he had to learn how to be a just king. Vin was a street urchin who tried to hide in order to survive in Mistborn, so she had to learn how to be the most powerful Allomancer in the world while also trying to understand who she is. The relationships were tested so much in the book with the discovery of a traitor, the introduction of new characters, and threat of being conquered.

The end of the book was a complete surprise to me. I knew something fishy was going on, but it really wasn’t what I was expecting. However, the reason I gave The Well of Ascension four stars instead of five is because I felt like it took so long to get to the ending, and while the big plot twist was really good it ended too quickly. Needless to say, I am excited for the last book (it’s shorter).

I’ve also decided to put it off for a bit. While I am really excited to finish the series I also don’t want it to end. There is another “Mistborn” series, but I’m just not ready to let go of this particular set of characters. So I’ll probably wait until the end of the month.

Favorite quotes:

“Yes, well,” Elend said. “I kind of lost track of time.”

“For two hours?”

Elend nodded sheepishly, “There were books involved.”

I feel you, Elend.

 

sig

What have you all been reading recently? What books are you most excited for?

Something that I love is organization. Check out my Instagram to see my lovely journals!

Leave a Reply

