Mistborn (or the best book I’ve read in a while)

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

  • genre: sci-fi/fantasy
  • rating: ★★★★★

I bought Mistborn last month because I’ve been looking for a good fantasy series to get into and to keep up with. I looked at a couple lists on Pinterest and throughout the shelves of Barnes and Noble on a couple of occasions but nothing really stood out to me. I finally settled on Mistborn after seeing it on one Buzzfeed list, but I wasn’t all that convinced. After finishing the first book in the series in a week I have come to the conclusion that this was the best decision of my life. Haha!

I absolutely loved Mistborn and I am convinced that Brandon Sanderson is a wizard because that book was magic. I’ve been in a bit of a book slump and it’s been really hard for me to get back into reading, but I was able to read nearly 700 pages in a week (which hopefully means my reading slump is over!).

From the back cover:

Sometimes I worry that I’m not the hero everyone thinks I am.

The philosophers assure me that this is the time, that the signs have been met. But I still wonder if they have the wrong man. So many people depend on me. They say I will hold the future of the entire world in my arms.

When they see me, do they see a liar?

Once, a hero rose to save the world. He failed.

For a thousand years since, the world has been a wasteland of ash and mist ruled by the immortal emperor known as the Lord Ruler. Every revolt has failed miserably.

Yet somehow, hope survives. Hope that dares to dream of ending the empire and defeating the Lord Ruler. A new kind of uprising is being planned–one that depends on the cunning of a brilliant criminal mastermind and the the determination of an unlikely heroine: a teenage street urchin named Vin.

Where a hero rose to save the world and failed, can a young heroine succeed?

Mistborn is full of great characters that really just help the story unfold. Kelsier, one of the protagonists, was so complex and his character constantly left me guessing. He is definitely one of my favorite characters and I mean of all time. I’m excited to see how Vin, the other protagonist’s, character develops throughout the next books.

The end of Mistborn was so unpredictable, I did not see any of it coming. The novel in its entirety was so fantastically written and the story was woven from the beginning to lead to its incredible ending. Seriously, there were tears. An overall great read and I can’t wait to read what happens next in The Well of Ascension.

What is your favorite ending to a novel?

Signature

Look at my favorite fantasy novel on Instagram!

3 thoughts on “Mistborn (or the best book I’ve read in a while)

Leave a Reply

