50 books in 2016

 

Hello web wanderers!!

As much as I love to read, I don’t do enough of it. It took me forever (and a year) to finish Game of Thrones, which is no small feat as it is 800+ pages. Still, I could’ve done better. That’s why in 2016 I plan on reading 50 books!

Now 50 books in a year may seem like a lot compared to other book challenges that are like 12 in a year (one every month) and that’s great if you’re doing that (any amount of reading is great!), but for me that’s not enough. Having just graduated from college I should read more than one book a month, especially since reading is my favorite.

I keep hearing these statistics that state that after graduating from college, many college graduates never pick up a book again. That just gets me right in the feels. I LOVE reading (I can’t say that enough) and I think about so many people who are illiterate and would give anything to read. Reading is important. It fuels the imagination and reduces stress. It’s one of the building blocks of education. It can develop one’s vocabulary. There are so many benefits to reading, which is why I am committed to reading as much as I can.

Some of the books I plan on reading include:

  • Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin (which I’ve recently finished)
  • Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt (finished!)
  • Memoirs of a Geisha by Arthur Golden
  • Stardust by Neil Gaiman
  • No Matter the Wreckage by Sarah Kay
  • Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen
  • Quiet by Susan Cain
  • The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini
  • Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson
  • Life of Pi by Yann Martel
  • Mere Christianity by C.S. Lewis
  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  • Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee
  • The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
  • We Should All Be Feminists by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

What else should I read?

Signature

2 thoughts on “50 books in 2016

Leave a Reply

